MATRIXSYNTH: Light In The Attic Announces Jodorowsky's Dune Original Motion Picture Soundtrack by Kurt Stenzel

Monday, September 21, 2015

Light In The Attic Announces Jodorowsky's Dune Original Motion Picture Soundtrack by Kurt Stenzel

Published on Sep 16, 2015 Light In The Attic Records

Be sure to see my post on The Synths of Jodorowsky's Dune with some words from Kurt Stenzel on the synths used in the soundtrack.

"This track is from Light In The Attic Records' release of Kurt Stenzel's original score to the documentary 'Jodorowsky's Dune.' It is available for purchase on vinyl & CD here:

Available: November 13th, 2015

This is the soundtrack to the story about the greatest film that never was.

Jodorowsky’s Dune tells the tale of cult filmmaker Alejandro Jodorowsky’s unsuccessful attempt to adapt Frank Herbert’s classic sci-fi novel, Dune, to the big screen. Composer Kurt Stenzel gives life to a retro-futuristic universe as fantastic as Jodorowsky’s own vision for his Dune–a film whose A-list cast would have included Salvador DalĂ­, Orson Welles, and Mick Jagger in starring roles and music by psychedelic prog-rockers Pink Floyd.

Building upon director Frank Pavich’s idea for a score with a 'Tangerine Dream-type feel,' Stenzel lays out a cosmic arsenal of analog synthesizers that would make any collector green at the gills: among other gems are a rare Moog Source, CZ-101s, and a Roland Juno 6, as well as unorthodox instruments like a toy Concertmate organ and a Nintendo DS. 'I also played guitar and did vocals,' says Stenzel, 'some chanting… and some screaming, which comes naturally to me.' The score also features narration by Jodorowsky himself. As Stenzel notes, 'Jodo’s voice is actually the soundtrack’s main musical instrument–listening to him was almost like hypnosis, like going to the guru every night.'

This highly-anticipated soundtrack LP was sequenced and mixed by Stenzel with the listener in mind and flows through a 'four-sides' LP approach. 'I wanted it to play like the records I grew up with, where every side was a journey.'

First time release
Liner notes by composer Kurt Stenzel
Original artwork by Nick Stewart Hoyle
2xLP housed in a deluxe gatefold Stoughton tip-on jacket
Includes download card for full album pre-order edition:
- 'Cosmic Swirl' Wax limited to 1,000 copies (2 per customer)
- Silver foil numbered jacket
- Includes folded 27″×40″ poster with artwork by Nick Stewart Hoyle"

Soundtrack Listing:
1. Coming of a God
2. Greatest Movie Never Made
3. Parallel World
4. Parallel World (outro)
5. Leap of Faith
6. Time and Space
7. Optical World
8. Nebula
9. Invitation
10. Point of View
11. Moebius
12. Arrakis
13. Millions of Stars
14. Into the Galaxy
15. O'Bannon Meets Jodo
16. Finding the Others
17. Spiritual Warriors
18. Conception of Paul
19. Ships With Souls
20. The Pirate Spaceship
21. Rescue From a Sandworm
22. Mad Emperor
23. Burning Giraffes
24. Baron Harkonnen
25. Giger's Theme
26. Deepest Darkness of the Soul
27. Feyd Rautha
28. Total Extermination
29. I Am Dune
30. Hollywood
31. Fingerprints
32. Open the Mind
33. Try"

No comments:

Post a Comment


Patch n Tweak

© Matrixsynth - All posts are presented here for informative, historical and educative purposes as applicable within fair use.
MATRIXSYNTH is supported by affiliate links that use cookies to track clickthroughs and sales. See the privacy policy for details.