MATRIXSYNTH: Tone Science No.9 'Theories and Conjectures' - Various Modular Synth Artists Available Now

Friday, April 05, 2024

Tone Science No.9 'Theories and Conjectures' - Various Modular Synth Artists Available Now

video upload by DreamsOfWires

"I have a track (a new version of 'Minimum') featured on the latest Tone Science compilation from Ian Boddy at DiN Records. Available as a digital download, and as a limited edition Digipak CD of 500 copies. Check it out here:

'Minimum' was recorded entrirely within a Eurorack modular system - sounds, effects, mixing, WAV recording, as a real-time performance (no overdubs). All sound modules are AJH Synth. It uses 6 analog VCOs: The melody is a single VCO (lower frequency) supporting the self-resonating Ladder Filter (upper). The later pattern is 2 VCOs through the Ring SM sub-octave generator. The drone sound in the background is 3 VCOs, 2 through the Wave Swam, and all through the Triple Cross module, where they're cross-faded using 3 seperate LFOs.

From Ian Boddy:
Tone Science sub-label, from DiN records, continues to explore the world of modular synth music.

Following the success and critical acclaim of the first eight Tone Science compilation albums,
DiN label boss Ian Boddy has collated another nine tracks from musicians of varying backgrounds working in the realms of modular synthesis.

As the Tone Science journey continues it never ceases to amaze just how varied and individualistic each musicians work can be. Whilst the hardware is technologically based each artist teases out a reflection of their own musical personality.

This volume kicks off with two pointillistic compositions from Loula Yorke and State Azure with intertwining sequencer patterns flowing and coiling around to create ever changing soundscapes.

After this energetic start the next pair of tracks from Theda Electronic Music and Swansither enter calmer, ambient territory where careful sculpting of synthesiser voices creates room for expression and atmosphere.

The mid-point of the album sees Sulk Rooms take us into darker territory with a drone based piece that slowly climbs from the undergrowth like some great creature arising from its slumber.

The next three tracks from Tomorrow The Cure, JacqNoise and Alex Ball are rhythmically based and showcase just how different the feel and energy of music made with modular synths can be with pure tones, deep bass and transient blips respectively.

Finally Michael J. York leads us gently into the distance with a beautiful, shimmering cocoon of blissful sound to close out the album.

“Tone Science Module No.9 Theories and Conjectures” continues the journey down the rabbit hole of possibilities and sound worlds inhabited by artists and musicians working in this ever fascinating and varied musical field.

01 Eala by Loula Yorke 7:44
02 Scanner by State Azure 8:23
03 Per-Bast by Theda Electronic Music 7:24
04 Muad’Dib by Swansither 7:04
05 Grasping The Eye Of The Duck by Sulk Rooms 6:43
06 Minimum by Tomorrow The Cure 6:18
07 Lono by JacqNoise 5:51
08 Adaption by Alex Ball 6:23
09 And They Shall Have Stars by Michael J. York 6:20

Total Time: 62:28"

No comments:

Post a Comment

To reduce spam, comments for posts older than one week are not displayed until approved, usually same day. Do not insult people. For items for sale, do not ask if it is still available. Check the auction link and search for the item. Auctions are from various sellers and expire over time. Posts remain for the pics and historical purposes. This site is meant to be a daily snapshot of some of what was out there in the world of synths.


Patch n Tweak
Switched On Make Synthesizer Evolution Vintage Synthesizers Creating Sound Fundlementals of Synthesizer Programming Kraftwerk

© Matrixsynth - All posts are presented here for informative, historical and educative purposes as applicable within fair use.
MATRIXSYNTH is supported by affiliate links that use cookies to track clickthroughs and sales. See the privacy policy for details.