MATRIXSYNTH: 25 Years of DiN (DiN86)

Saturday, July 06, 2024

25 Years of DiN (DiN86)

Featuring supporting members Bakis Sirros of Parallel Worlds, Dave Bessell of Node, & more.


1. Benge - Shadow - The Rest Of Light 05:06
2. Dave Bessell - All Is Now 08:35
3. Bluetech - Broken Prisms Still Refract Light 05:39
4. Erik Wøllo - Emergence 06:55
5. Lyonel Bauchet - A Perfect Day For Uncertainty 07:16
6. Robert Rich - Ornament Drift 05:37
7. d'Voxx - Vila Madalena 06:28
8. Parallel Worlds - Some Space 06:58
9. Ian Boddy - Small World 07:06
10. Polypores - Viridescence 07:36
11. Markus Reuter - Albatross 06:01
12. Field Lines Cartographer - Sea Of Grass 07:52
13. Scanner - Now There Was Nowhere 06:29
14. Chris Carter - Consonance 03:17
15. Bernhard Wöstheinrich - On The Cusp Of Lucid Dreaming 07:02
16. Radio Massacre International - Flying Colours 07:14
17. Surface 10 - Psyche Dio 07:59
18. Nigel Mullaney - There Is No Dark 06:13
19. Node - Rewind 10:08
20. ARC - System Six 11:33

"This is certainly a milestone release for the DiN label as it celebrates its 25th anniversary. Needless to say, this is quite an achievement for a niche, independent label that has relentlessly ploughed its own path for quarter of a century. Its catalogue and release schedule has been carefully curated over all these years by label boss Ian Boddy, who launched the imprint way back in the spring of 1999. It is perhaps a reflection of his own musical identity which, whilst grounded in the Berlin School of the 1970s, has continued to evolve and grow to cover ever widening areas of electronic music, where sub-genres can be mixed and matched at will.

There have been plenty of compilation albums released on the DiN label in the past, most notably the iNDEX sampler albums, of which there have been eight to date. These cover tracks from existing albums and are certainly a great showcase for the label. However, this double album is different, in that Boddy invited the majority of the musicians who have previously been released on the main DiN catalogue to compose new pieces. Spread across two discs, this amounts to 142 minutes of sublime, varied and thoroughly original music. Ranging from beautifully ambient to dark brooding soundscapes, via cinematic electronica through to old school Berlin School sequencer workouts, “25 Years of DiN” is a wonderful distillation of the DiN label.

Presented in a stunning six panel fold out Digipak double CD package with 8-page booklet featuring an essay by Neil Mason (Moonbuilding), this release is a must-have for collectors of the DiN labels output.
releases July 19, 2024

Disc One

01 Benge - Shadow - The Rest Of Light
The title for this track came to me in a dream. I woke up with the phrase in my head, and then attempted to translate its locution into music.
YouTube @memetunestudio

02 Dave Bessell - All Is Now
Dave Bessell gives us a studio version of a track first presented live at the Awakenings. Rolling interlocked arpeggios are topped with melodic lines in a satisfying harmonic puzzle.

03 Bluetech - Broken Prisms Still Refract Light
This track is an exploration of layering multiple synths playing the same part with differing modulation speeds to achieve a prismatic counterplay between each element, as if light is refracting at an angle to create geometric patterns on the wall.
Instagram @bluetechofficlal

04 Erik Wøllo - Emergence
Emergence is a noun that goes back to the Latin root “emergere”, meaning "bring to light.”
Something coming to light or showing up where there was darkness or nothing before.

05 - Lyonel Bauchet - A Perfect Day For Uncertainty
It seems Buchla and Ciat Lombarde instrument universes blend pretty well together; add a sprinkle of uncertainty and the day could be perfect.

06 - Robert Rich - Ornament Drift
Polyrhythms of 4 against 7. Keyboard arpeggios routed through MOTM modular, Haken Continuum solo, Sequential Prophet X and 6.

07 - d’Voxx - Vila Madalena
“Vila Madalena" encapsulates d'Voxx's iconic sound, merging neo-classical elements with lush arpeggiators and dynamic swells, enriched by the bold introduction of guitars. A hypnotic, sweeping, and utterly epic journey.

08 - Parallel Worlds - Some Space
Please give me some space… to live and work in artistic and personal freedom... let me operate my modulars to give something back to the world.

09 - Ian Boddy - Small World
Everything I’ve ever done encapsulated into one small world.

10 - Polypores - Viridescence
Subtle energies from Elsewhere, manifesting as music, and performed on modular synthesizer. Designed to make the brain tingle.

Disc Two

01 Markus Reuter - Albatross
Composed & performed by Markus Reuter playing Touch Guitars® AU8. Produced by Markus Reuter & Erik Emil Eskildsen. Published by All Matter In The Universe.

02 Field Lines Cartographer - Sea Of Grass
Inspired by the series of novels by Dan Simmons, this is an imagined journey across the Sea Of Grass on the planet Hyperion, the sun setting over the horizon on this strange, beautiful and mysterious labyrinthine world.

03 Scanner - Now There Was Nowhere
This track utilises piano, Eurorack modular and live radio broadcasts to create this elusive ethereal grainy work. As always, it appeared as if by magic, with little planning.

04 Chris Carter - Consonance
Sources: Arturia Matrix Brute, Roland 1M, 1U Custom Mosaic Synth. Processors: Eventide H9000 & Eclipse, Boss SX-700, Roland SDE-330 & SRV-3030D. Published by Mute Song.

05 Bernhard Wöstheinrich - On The Cusp Of Lucid Dreaming
Bernhard Wöstheinrich has created an eclectic body of work in both graphics and music.
He speaks in his own musical voice; the musical arc of his work often moves from the curiously beautiful to the beautifully curious.

06 Radio Massacre International - Flying Colours
“Flying Colours” is a new RMI piece recorded in October 2023 in a cabin in North Yorkshire.
It features somewhat disrupted rhythmic equilibrium, underpinned by a reassuringly captivating guitar performance.

07 Surface 10 - Psyche Dio
Originally conceived in 2016 but never released “Psyche Dio" has been reworked for this release and is now dedicated to DiN.

08 Nigel Mullaney - There Is No Dark
“There Is No Dark” is inspired by the new worlds that music on the DiN label has created over the past 25 years. Hold your breath and count to five.

09 Node - Rewind
Taken from the rehearsals for the London gig at the Royal College of Music. All the Node trade marks are present; Berlin school sequencing, improvisational interplay and massive vintage Moog modulars!

10 ARC - System Six
Composed by Mark Shreeve. Performed by ARC (twice) as the encore of their performance at
E-Live, Auditorium of the T.U., Eindhoven, The Netherlands on 13/10/2007."

No comments:

Post a Comment

Do not insult people. Do not ask if listings are still available. Click through auction links to check yourself. Posts and pics remain for historical purposes only. To reduce spam, comments for posts older than one week are not displayed until approved, usually same day.


Switched On Make Synthesizer Evolution Vintage Synthesizers Creating Sound Fundlementals of Synthesizer Programming Kraftwerk

© Matrixsynth - All posts are presented here for informative, historical and educative purposes as applicable within fair use.
MATRIXSYNTH is supported by affiliate links that use cookies to track clickthroughs and sales. See the privacy policy for details.