MATRIXSYNTH: Alessandro Cortini's SONOIO Released - Buchla Goodness

Tuesday, September 14, 2010

Alessandro Cortini's SONOIO Released - Buchla Goodness

Alessandro Cortini's SONOIO is now available on If you haven't previously checked out the four promo tracks on site, do it now. What you will be listening to was all written on the Buchla 200 and 200e. All tracks primarily feature the Buchla with Jomox Xbase 09 for some of the drums. The full release features nine tracks. The following are the tracks and the synths used for each. Note tracks 1, 3, and 6 are 100% Buchla 200, and track 9 is 100% 200e.

1 Just me - 200
2 Suck up everything - 200, Ultrabeat, 200e
3 Not worth remembering - 200
4 Silence - 200, 200e
5 Heartbeat - 200, Jomox, Bass (electric), Reaktor Weedwacker ensemble
6 Hold on - let go - 200
7 Memory loss - Sepakerphone, NI Massive, Buchla 200e
8 Houdini - 200e , NI Massive
9 Happy - 200e

This is a great album on first listen and only gets better over time. The fact that it's primarily all Buchla only makes it better, as not only can you appreciate the tracks from a musical perspective, but you can really focus in on some of what the Buchla is capable of. This is essentially all Buchla in a modern rock recording. Buchla Rock and Roll (you might remember that one from Alessandro's NIN days. It's also worth noting Alessandro Cortini recently perfomed with Don Buchla at the San Fransisco Electronic Music Festival (SFEMF). SONOIO has been added to the Synth CDs post.

Available on you will also find the SuONOIO, available with a digital download of the album for $159.99. Note the extra "u". The SuONOIO is hardware. What does it mean and what exactly is it? From the site:

"SuONOIO (italian , suono io = i make sound)
# Alessandro Cortini and Scott Jaeger (The Harvestman) have collaborated to create a fully functional, highly featured and fun synthesizer called the SuONOIO. The SuONOIO utilizes sounds found on the SONOIO album and allows you to reshape them into new sounds, rhythms, textures and drones!
# The SuONOIO is highly portable thanks to its battery powered operation and built-in speaker. In addition to the immediate feedback of the built-in speaker, SuONOIO features a 1/4" output that makes it easy to be integrated with your favorite pedals, processors, amplifiers and more. Multiple SuONOIOs can be patched together if you decide to become a shut in or a professional concert SuONOIO-ist."

The following are a couple of teaser videos featuring an original Buchla 200.

sonoio1 from Alessandro Cortini on Vimeo.

sonoio2 from Alessandro Cortini on Vimeo.

1 comment:


©2019 Matrixsynth - All posts are presented here for informative, historical and educative purposes as applicable within fair use.
MATRIXSYNTH is supported by affiliate links that use cookies to track clickthroughs and sales. See the privacy policy for details.